Installed Alpine Amps with speaker level input and it shoots way high - Drive Accord Honda Forums | radio-pro.ru
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old 03-04-2013, 04:02 PM Thread Starter
1st Gear

Installed Alpine Amps with speaker level input and it shoots way high

Hi,

I am a rookie for all the mods and DIY stuff so please be patient with me. I have a 2005 Honda Accord V6 with factory radio with XM as a head unit.

I installed 2 Alpine MRP-M500 Amps with 2 10 inch E series subs. I am using the speaker level inputs on the amps so I dont have to run Pre-amp outputs from the head unit to the back. Infact I have too much of a mess around the head unit because I had a FM transmitter before and now I have a USA SPEC Ipod kit connected to my head unit. So I just tapped my rear speakers and fed it to my amps to avoid complications.

The problem is I was tuning my amps with 60hz freq sound wave, I turned the gains all the way down and was measuring the voltage output on the speaker outputs. I had kept the head unit volume control to 30 (75% of 40) and I was expecting 31.62 volts that is sqrt of (250 watts-speaker rms x 4 ohms). But I was seeing somewhere about 50V on the multimeter.

For now I have reduced the bass and turned the fader to front speakers to reduce the output under 31 volts so I don not burn my speakers down. But I am worried about them. So am I doing something wrong here?

Links to the setup is below:

Any help will be appreciated.

Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 03-07-2013, 05:15 PM
87th Gear

Hey dude,

I don't know much about what you're working on, but I was wondering what you used to hook the factory head unit up to the amplifier? I've got the same Ipod unit you've got and was thinking of returning it to put an aftermarket radio in.

2002 Volvo S80 2.9L inline 6 120k - Current
2006 V6 6MT EX-L Sedan 120k - Totaled

2000 Celica GT-S AT 47k - Sold