Noob questions. Advice needed. 4 channel amp or new head unit. - Drive Accord Honda Forums | radio-pro.ru
View Poll Results: With a budget of $200 to make the sound system louder, what would you do?
Add a 4 channel amp 1 100.00%
Get a new head unit 0 0%
Voters: 1. You may not vote on this poll

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 10-27-2017, 06:30 PM Thread Starter
1st Gear

Noob questions. Advice needed. 4 channel amp or new head unit.

Hello DA!

I'm pretty new to the Accord world, and need some audio advice.

You can see my 1999 Accord here: Collkid's Free 1999 DD.

Anyway, I recently put decent speakers in it. 6.5' quinn in the front and 6x9 Kenwood in the rear.

I still have the stock head unit.

Honestly, I'm happy with the head unit, I converted it to attach my phone a few years ago (instead of the 6 disk changer). However its not loud enough.

I can tell the speakers have plenty more to give, so I suspect the head unit to be the problem.

Now here's what I was thinking, either keep the stock head unit and get a 4 channel amp, or get a new head unit.

Is it even possible to add an amp to the stock system to make the speakers louder?

What would be cheaper?
Which would be better?
I would be looking to spend $100-200.

What would you do?

Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 10-28-2017, 07:49 AM
6th Gear

Garage
IMO, a new head unit will give you more power, better options and allow you to add an amp if you need to in the future. $200 may be on the low side depending on what you want, especially considering parts, tax and install on either piece you choose.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 8 Old 10-28-2017, 12:07 PM Thread Starter
1st Gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lashlee View Post