To steering rack experts, bellows question. 1997 Accord - Drive Accord Honda Forums | radio-pro.ru
3Likes
  • 2 Post By RickBlaine
  • 1 Post By 75Gremlin
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 11-30-2017, 06:51 AM Thread Starter
1st Gear

To steering rack experts, bellows question. 1997 Accord

170k miles on car. 2.2 liter.
I need to replace the driver's side "rubber" bellows as it is torn (see generic bellows, HRK parts in attachment).
The passenger side bellows looks ok.
Regarding the passenger side bellows: leave well enough alone, or replace it also?
Thank you!

Attached Images
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 11-30-2017, 07:03 AM

Thanked 1,913 Times in 1,361 Posts
I am not an expert in steering racks. But I have lived long enough to strongly believe the adage: "As long as you are there anyway and everything is apart, you might as well replace XYZ too."

I know there is a chance you can damage something or strip something out, but if something is going on in there you don't know. As long as you are lying under the car with all your tools- just replace it.

Steering rack experts will chime in, I hope- as I do not know the risks/negatives of swapping out a seemingly good boot.

YOU obviously are a DIY-er.....not to challenge you, but in your experience, haven't you ever had to go back and do something over because "it looked OK at the time"? This is like people who do timing belt jobs and do NOT replace the tensioner- "Oh, it looked OK." 20,000 miles later they blow their engine and post here about never buying a Honda again and going back to Pontiac.

MiragePilot and enne like this.
post #3 of 8 Old 11-30-2017, 07:05 AM
Runnin' in the 90s

Garage