new older model - Drive Accord Honda Forums | radio-pro.ru
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 10-27-2017, 06:10 AM Thread Starter
1st Gear

new older model

Hello all! newbie here. newbie to both forums and honda in general ive done no research and really have not even been in one until this car. my previous experience is with late model (nothing in the 00's) ford and chevy. after a recent string of bad luck and life in general i was given a 1990 automatic accord. ive had it a bit now ( 3 months) Shes not mint and has 276xxx on her but her windows go down and the radio works and she gets me to the store and the Dr just fine. i had some questions on features ive never seen before in a car and have been googling but no avail, probably because shes so seasoned everyone is supposed to know but me i guess. i ran into your forum and wondered if anyone can answer these.

1. i have a trunk release on my floor when i lift it it unlatches the trunk but the trunk doesnt "pop" is this because the "pop" is so worn or is honda known for not lifting the trunk a bit after unlatching? so ive been known to release the trunk and forget that its open because its not open a bit and then take off down the road and the trunk will just lift... opps.

2. why is there a "footrest" on the floor? it would be in the position of the clutch if it was a manual but its solid metal and attached to the floor. is this common?

3. what is the purpose of the shifter unlock/release panel on shifter?

4. i also have a button on the stick that is marked with an "s" what is this used for?

5. is it normal when taking off the gas cap that air escapes sounding like a deflating balloon? or is this a sign of a problem?