Reliability of I4 vs. V6? - Drive Accord Honda Forums | radio-pro.ru
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
post #1 of 20 Old 03-01-2008, 09:26 PM Thread Starter
1st Gear

Reliability of I4 vs. V6?

I'm currently looking at picking up a leftover 7th gen 2007 Accord sedan with a manual transmission, looking at both 4 cylinder 5MT's and the V6 6MT. I'm new to the Honda world, but my understanding is that both of these engines are pretty reliable. Is there a strong advantage in terms of long term reliability or durability of one vs. the other? Thanks for your thoughts.
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 03-01-2008, 11:30 PM

Send a message via AIM to edwilson13185 Send a message via MSN to edwilson13185
Both engines have proven track records of being very reliable. The V6 does have a timing belt which needs to be changed periodically (I believe around 100,000 miles). The four-cylinder has a timing chain that doesn't have to be changed. The four-cylinder will also get better gas mileage than the V6, particularly if you do a lot of city driving.

You will get a reliable car either way, but the four-cylinder will have lower operating costs in the long run.

-Ed
2005 Honda Accord EX-L 2.4 5AT coupe
2008 Honda Accord EX-L 2.4 5AT sedan
post #3 of 20 Old 03-01-2008, 11:54 PM
5th Gear

Send a message via AIM to alpha
Quote:
Originally Posted by edwilson13185 View Post
The four-cylinder has a timing chain that doesn't have to be changed.
You still need to keep an eye on it. It's not maintenance free.

Timing belts and timing chains have their pluses and minuses.

- Mark

2006 Honda Accord EX-V6 6MT Navi Sedan
Carbon Bronze Pearl/Black
post #4 of 20 Old 03-02-2008, 10:55 AM
Ashley & Derrick