stripped sparkplug threads -07 Accord V6 EX (Navi) - Drive Accord Honda Forums | radio-pro.ru
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 19 Old 11-05-2012, 12:41 PM Thread Starter
1st Gear

stripped sparkplug threads -07 Accord V6 EX (Navi)

Total newbie here - thank God for this site! I have an 07 Accord V6 EX (Navi) that I bought as a certified used car from Honda dealer with 16K miles. It now has 64,XXX miles and I had a CEL come on 2 weeks ago. I have Honda care warranty to 100K miles so brought it to dealer and they said I needed a new cyl. 5 engine coil and sp.plug, and a new ignition coil. (coils were covered, plug was $28) CEL came on again this past Sat - brought it back and 3 hours later they say the threads were stripped and "spark plug slipped right through." They have taken it to "machine shop" to get checked. 3 days later - no updates. I advised I wanted zero done until I authorize. I have read up on this site and others, and am concerned they may try to repair on the cheap (due to warranty) and do heli-coil and may not even remove head first...I was told by a friend that they likely screwed up in the 1st repair using too much torque, or taking the plug out while still hot(?). My concern is that I need this car to last or at least trade for top dollar. Can I insist on a new Cylinder head, and is a cylinder head the same thing as a cyl. head cover? I have reviewed Time-sert possibility for repair and if warranty allows them to repair vs. replace I want to insist on that vs. helicoil and make sure they remove the head first...but how can I make sure they do it this way, and what are my options? Did they mess my baby up? Love this car - so bummed out. Any advice/knowledge would be appreciated.

Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 11-05-2012, 02:05 PM
5th Gear