First time battery replacement - Drive Accord Honda Forums | radio-pro.ru
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 03-04-2014, 07:53 PM Thread Starter
1st Gear

First time battery replacement

I own a 2007 Accord EXL Navi 4 cyl. I am a newbie at DIY stuff. So my Honda dealer quoted a $140 + Tax on changing the battery. I declined and bought battery at Costco and decided to change it on my own. While changing it, I found out that the Costco battery is bigger in size than the original one. So the tray and the cover would not fit. So I installed the battery without the tray and the cover. Will this be an issue? Secondly, are the tray and cover available somewhere for the Costco size battery? I would like to put them back in if I get an appropriate size for it.

Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 03-04-2014, 07:58 PM
BRWNFLSH now

Maybe they gave you the battery for the V6 model. Is it group size 35? If so you could get the battery box and cover for the V6 model from either an online dealership or maybe boneyard.

92 EX Sedan auto (RBM) - sold after 12 years (140k miles)
03 EX V6 Sedan auto (NBP, then Ford Blue) - traded in after 13 years (135k miles)
16 EX I4 CVT with sensing (KCM) - 15,000 miles so far
post #3 of 10 Old 03-04-2014, 08:00 PM
4th Gear

I would go with what Blckflsh said. The tray and cover not fitting is the giveaway. Consider it a bonus or win.

2005 SSM Sedan LX ;Matte Black Grille with black Emblem ;15% Tint all around ;12" Kenwood Subwoofer
Plasti Dip Black Badges ;Plasti Dip Hubcaps ;White LED Lights all around ;120 LED SMD switchback with Relay mod ;Custom 2.5" Cat Back Exhaust ;Fujita Cold Air Intake ;TSX Intake Manifold ;P2R Gaskets ;178,000+ Miles; Weathertech Digital Fit Liners

post #4 of 10 Old 03-04-2014, 08:05 PM

Thanked 1,931 Times in 1,377 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLCKFLSH View Post