How to adjust clutch pedal engagement point? - Drive Accord Honda Forums | radio-pro.ru
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 01-17-2014, 10:29 PM Thread Starter
1st Gear

How to adjust clutch pedal engagement point?

Hi, newbie here...

Does anyone know how to adjust the clutch so it engages earlier so there is more free play?

Im not sure if its normal but the clutch engages after about 50-60% released...I know its a self adjusting clutch but its so hard to feel for it when there's so little free play and also accord's sensitive gas pedal throttle...

A new clutch should engage after you release it like 20-25% right?
so if clutch can be depressed 4 inches it should start to bite after you release 1 inch?

I googled that hydraulic self adjusting clutches dont need adjusting but I also read somewhere you can adjust the slave cylinder pushrod or something and can change the engagement point?

Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 01-18-2014, 07:02 AM
6th Gear

There isn't a whole lot you can do to adjust your clutch. Your engagement point is going to be pretty much be whatever it is. You should be able to look at your clutch pedal and see where you adjust it. The following from the service manual provides the specifications for what can be adjusted. Good luck.

Loosen the clutch pushrod locknut, and turn the
pushrod in or out to get the specified height,
stroke, free play, and disengagement height
at the clutch pedal.

Clutch Pedal Stroke: 130-140 mm (5.12-5.51 in.)
Clutch Pedal Free Play: 10-18 mm (0.39-0.71 in.)
Clutch Pedal Height: 191 mm (7.52 in.)
Clutch Pedal Disengagement Height:95 mm (3.74 in.)

2006 Accord Coupe silver V6 6-speed
2003 Accord Coupe silver V6 auto
The Following User Says Thank You to ypsibird For This Useful Post:
Mr. White (01-18-2014)
post #3 of 9 Old 01-18-2014, 01:53 PM
White on Black AV6-6