Remote Start Install - Astrostart RS-625 + DBALL2 - 2011 Accord Sedan EX-L - Drive Accord Honda Forums | radio-pro.ru
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 1 Old 03-16-2015, 06:58 AM Thread Starter
1st Gear

Lightbulb Remote Start Install - Astrostart RS-625 + DBALL2 - 2011 Accord Sedan EX-L

Hey everyone, I just completed my remote start install on my 2011 Accord Sedan. The install went very smoothly following the instructions in the DBALL2 Install Guide for Type 1 (found here: )

Remote starts have been covered elsewhere so I thought I'd just give a brief overview and some tips and gotcha's I encountered. Full disclosure: I am NOT a professional installer, though I have installed several of these over the years.

Preparation
  • Spend a healthy amount of time going over your wires and your wire locations
  • The12Volt.com is a great resource for technical questions (thought some people can be condescending) and has a great list of wiring diagrams for almost any car:
  • I spent an evening cutting the wires I knew I wouldn't need, taping the ends and bundling wires that would be going to the same locations in split loom. It makes you install MUCH cleaner to do this before hand and it's easier route everything when it's bundled instead of a big mess of spaghetti
  • Learn how to do a splice without cutting the wire. Split the wire open after removing insulation from the middle and wrap your new wire through the hole: ()

Tools
  • I HIGHLY recommend soldering all of your connections, the thicker gauge wires take a little longer, but it's worth it IMO. I use a Weller/Portasol butane iron. It's cordless and ESD safe, heats up fast and can do the thick gauge ignition wires with out too much trouble. This is the specific Iron I used:

• Scotch Super 33+ electrical tape wraps all soldered connections and secures everything in place. The super 33+ tape also holds up well in cold weather without becoming brittle.